Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-20-05, 12:32 AM   #1
kellogs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Default Plasma, Xfree86 and Nvidia

Hi Guys,

I am using Geforce FX5200 on my Linux box.

Linux (DVI) ---> DVI 2 HDMI cable ---> Plasma HDMI

I have installed the nvidia driver and now able to output to the plasma screen.

After checking on the Xfree86log, i have noticed that it is using 640x480 resolution and the 4 corners on the plasma screen is not viewable.

I am wondering if anyone has the same experience on setting up X on a Plasma screen.

Plasma specification

Screen Size 43 Inches
Aspect Ratio 16 : 9
Number of Pixels (Horizontal x Vertical) 1024 x 768
Brightness 1100 cd/m2
Contrast Ratio 1200 : 1
Viewing Angle More than 160
3 Line Digital Comb Filter PAL/NTSC (Main & Sub)
Video Signals PAL/SECAM/NTSC3.58/NTSC4.43/PAL-M/PAL-N/HD/PC
PC Signals VGA/SVGA/XGA/Wide XGA
Picture-in-Picture Display Yes
Dual Screen Display Yes
Still Picture Yes
DNR (Digital Noise Reduction) Yes (Off/High/Mid/Low)
MPEG NR Yes (Off/High/Mid/Low)
Color Management Yes
Natural Enhancer Yes
Digital Flicker Fee Yes
Digital CTI (Color Transient Improvement) Yes
Dynamic Range Expander Yes (Off/High/Mid/Low)
Color Temperature Adjustment Yes (High/Mid-High/Mid/Mid-Low/Low, Manual)
PureCinema Yes (Off/Standard/ADV)
AV Selection (Programmed Picture) Yes (STANDARD/DYNAMIC/MOVIE/GAME/USER)
Reception System PAL B/G,I,D/K,M,N SECAM B/G, D/K NTSC M
Stereo/ Dual Sound NICAM B/G, I D/K, CCIR A2 BG/DK, MTS
Auto Search Yes
Auto Channel Labeling Yes
Auto Channel Sort Yes
Number of Programmable Channels 125
Teletext CEEFAX/FLOF/TOP (with TOP Over View Page)
Number of Languages 25
Page Memory 2,100 pages
Picture and Text (Dual Screen) Yes
OSD High-Quality Font
Languages English, Chinese (Traditional), Chinese (Simple), Spanish, Portuguese
Remote Controller SR
Energy Save Mode (for AV and PC) Yes (Standard/Save)
No Signal Off (for AV) Yes(Disable/Enable)
No Operation Off (for AV) Yes(Disable/Enable)
Power Management (for PC) Yes (Off/Mode1/Mode2)
Audio Output Power 13 W + 13 W (1kHz, 10%, 8 ohms)
Tone Control Bass, Treble, Balance
Surround SRS*
Audio Orientation FOCUS
Bass Boost TruBass*
Input1 AV Input, S-Video Input, Y/PB/PR Input
Input2 AV Input, S-Video Input
Input3 AV Input, S-Video Input, Y/PB/PR Input, HDMI Input
Monitor Out (RCA pin) AV Out, S-Video Output
Input 4(front) AV Input, S-Video Input
PC (Front) D-sub 15 Input, Stereo Mini Jack Input (Audio)
SR Control In/Out Mini Jack x 2
Others Antenna Terminal (DIN) System Connection x 2 (for plasma TV screen and media receiver) Speaker Out L/R (Display Rear, 8- 16 ohms)
Display 1120 x 652 x 100 mm
Media Receiver 420 x 90 x 297 mm
Display 26.8 kg
Media Receiver 5 kg
Display 298 W (Standby Mode - 0.4W)
Media Receiver 35W (Standby Mode - 0.4W)
Total 333W (Standby Mode 0.8W)
Power Requirement AC 110-240 V, 50/60 Hz

Thanks!
kellogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-05, 11:00 AM   #2
YummYYummY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Plasma, Xfree86 and Nvidia

I got the same problem on my LCD tv 32"

plz some one help ?
YummYYummY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-05, 09:08 PM   #3
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Plasma, Xfree86 and Nvidia

Please start X with the following command:
startx -- -logverbose 5

and then generate and post a bug report for review.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-05, 03:17 AM   #4
meckimac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Plasma, Xfree86 and Nvidia

same problem here with a 43" Pioneer Plasma. The resolution looks like 648x480 even though the Plasma reports 525p.

I'm using the 6600 and DVI.

Any solution yet?
meckimac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-05, 03:19 AM   #5
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Plasma, Xfree86 and Nvidia

@meckimac: please provide the information requested in netllama's post #3.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia + 2.4.19 gentoo = messed up ulukay NVIDIA Linux 18 11-01-02 11:58 PM
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 01:44 PM
GForce drivers installed...but dont work tomfullery NVIDIA Linux 6 09-22-02 08:23 AM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM
RH7.3 and nForce - can't find the module dmw400 NVIDIA Linux 4 08-05-02 12:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.