Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-13, 05:20 AM   #1
dillzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 55
Default Linux Kepler

I currently use a Triple Head 2 Go for (3) 1920x1200 monitors. This allows for composite desktop with each screen laid out properly with the display properties (No giant windows spanning two or more monitors, they maximize to each respective one). Does anyone know if the Kepler cards can achieve this without the use for TH2G?\

How I achieve this today. . .

(/etc/X11/xorg.conf)
...Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "UseEDID" "False"
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "True"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
Option "TwinView" "True"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "TwinviewXineramaInfo" "True"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOverride" "1920x1200+0+0, 1920x1200+1920+0, 1920x1200+3840+0"
Option "DynamicTwinView" "False"
Option "MetaModes" "1920x1200,3840x1200"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-83"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "56-76"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "3840x1200"
EndSubSection
dillzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-13, 05:23 AM   #2
MaDDeePee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 41
Default Re: Linux Kepler

Yes, you can attach 4 momitor to ONE card and combine them to just one X screen

Quote:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Module"
#Load "freetype"
Load "dbe"
Load "dri2"
Load "extmod"
#Load "type1"
Load "glx"
Disable "dri"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
Option "AllowEmptyInput" "false"
Option "AutoAddDevices" "true"
Option "DontZap" "False"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "VertScrollDelta" "20"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
#Option "AutoRepeat" "disabled"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "evdev"
Option "Protocol" "Standard"
#Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "de"
Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Samsung SyncMaster"
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Samsung"
ModelName "Samsung SyncMaster"
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor2"
VendorName "Samsung"
ModelName "Samsung SyncMaster"
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor3"
VendorName "Samsung"
ModelName "Samsung SyncMaster"
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce GT 640"
Option "RenderAccel" "true"
Option "Coolbits" "1"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
Option "EXANoComposite" "true"
Option "OnDemandVBlankInterrupts" "True"
Option "TripleBuffer" "true"
Option "NoLogo" "0"
Option "DPMS" "true"
BusID "PCI:7:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +1280+1080, DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+1093, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +1160+0, DFP-2: nvidia-auto-select +2960+1093"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "1"
MaDDeePee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-13, 05:03 AM   #3
dillzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: Linux Kepler

MaDDeePee,

Great thanks for the update! I have been offline for a while - sorry for the delay. What DE do you use? Can you use the built in xrandr to configure the screens or nvidias util? With mine I have to do everything by hand. Also, just to verify, you get a compositing window manager with proper maximize behavior (to only one screen, not stretched)? If that is the case that is great and I think it might be time to upgrade!
dillzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-13, 05:05 AM   #4
dillzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: Linux Kepler

Also, What are you connections on the GT 640. Do you use a mix of DVI/Displayport/HDMI?
dillzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-13, 02:22 AM   #5
MaDDeePee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 41
Default Re: Linux Kepler

Quote:
Originally Posted by dillzz View Post
MaDDeePee,

Great thanks for the update! I have been offline for a while - sorry for the delay. What DE do you use? Can you use the built in xrandr to configure the screens or nvidias util? With mine I have to do everything by hand. Also, just to verify, you get a compositing window manager with proper maximize behavior (to only one screen, not stretched)? If that is the case that is great and I think it might be time to upgrade!
I am at the latest KDE. and yes, i can use xrandr to rotate or re-organise the "starting positions" of my screens. i usually use NV-controll to generate my config file, its nice for screen positioning.

I got full compositing on my desktop, i could enlarge programms like unigine-valey to run over all 4 screens with hardware accell.

Windows "snap" on all 4 screens at the borders like it would only be one only screen, pressing the maximize button in a programm maximises the window to the screen where it currently is, not to the whole desktop. If you want your programm streched over the whole desktop, you need to drag it yourself. ^^

I am using a GTX660Ti now with dual dvi, displayport and hdmi.

The GT 640 had dual dvi, vga and hdmi.
MaDDeePee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-13, 03:00 PM   #6
dillzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: Linux Kepler

MaDDeePee,

Fantastic - thank you!
dillzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-13, 09:29 PM   #7
dillzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: Linux Kepler

Just wanted to update you...I got a GTX 650 with two dual link DVI, and one mini hdmi. I hooked all three monitors and everything worked like a charm! xrandr and all. Thanks for the help.
dillzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test Drive Shows New Kepler GPUs Offer Instant Performance Boost to Research News Archived News Items 0 12-14-12 05:10 AM
Steam for Linux Beta Now Available News Archived News Items 0 11-06-12 05:20 PM
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 12:52 PM
NVIDIA Ships The GeForce GTX 670 Kepler (Phoronix - Linux) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-11-12 06:00 AM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.