Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-09, 08:55 PM   #1
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default wd raptors 300 gig

Well will have two of these tomorrow, in rig below I think I'm going to put these in raid 0 and put my Vista on it, instead of the segate 1 tb drive, think I should do it?, how do I like say copy the segate with Vista os to the two wd300 gig raptors I want in raid? or will I just have to reinstall os to the new raid configuration?, kinda hate to go through all them game reinstalls and etc. I just kinda don't want those raptors sitting around.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-09, 10:00 PM   #2
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: wd raptors 300 gig

A good piece of software that allows you to copy the entire partition and keep everything in tact is Partition Manager. http://www.partition-manager.com/

It's not free but it is worth it for the time you can save by simply copying everything at once.

You could also try some of these. I haven't tested them but since they clone while the OS is running it shouldn't have an issue with raid arrays. They are free so it might be worth it to try them first.

http://www.xxclone.com/index.htm

http://www.runtime.org/driveimage-xml.htm

http://www.runtime.org/shadow-copy.htm

http://www.easeus.com/disk-copy/

Another program on the list I'm looking at is PING. http://ping.windowsdream.com/

It sounds interesting but it won't work for RAID arrays because it's not going to be able to load drivers. Just throwing it out there for anyone else who reads this thread.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-09, 09:42 AM   #3
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: wd raptors 300 gig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
A good piece of software that allows you to copy the entire partition and keep everything in tact is Partition Manager. http://www.partition-manager.com/

It's not free but it is worth it for the time you can save by simply copying everything at once.

You could also try some of these. I haven't tested them but since they clone while the OS is running it shouldn't have an issue with raid arrays. They are free so it might be worth it to try them first.

http://www.xxclone.com/index.htm

http://www.runtime.org/driveimage-xml.htm

http://www.runtime.org/shadow-copy.htm

http://www.easeus.com/disk-copy/

Another program on the list I'm looking at is PING. http://ping.windowsdream.com/

It sounds interesting but it won't work for RAID arrays because it's not going to be able to load drivers. Just throwing it out there for anyone else who reads this thread.
Thanks alot, Really appreciate it. I always love nvidia forums My first choice for help.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-09, 12:54 PM   #4
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: wd raptors 300 gig

Still waiting on my other raptor from ups today, I'm Doing a trial version of Paragon Hard Disk Manager suite 2009, It sells for 49.95, Probally buy it if works good, Sure looks like it will have it installed right now, easy clone method, can't wait for that other raptor. Ok when I get it clone to the raid raptors I'm going to wipe the segate drive, So then I have to install it to the raptors then, can you do this keep switching the software to different drives to do this?
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-09, 08:15 PM   #5
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: wd raptors 300 gig

Think I should put my stripe size at 16KB, or 32KB, All I do is mainly game.

WD sent me the drive without the heatsink, so I have to return it be probally 6 more days before I get the other 300 gig raptor.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-09, 09:15 PM   #6
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: wd raptors 300 gig

Quote:
Originally Posted by fasedww View Post
Still waiting on my other raptor from ups today, I'm Doing a trial version of Paragon Hard Disk Manager suite 2009, It sells for 49.95, Probally buy it if works good, Sure looks like it will have it installed right now, easy clone method, can't wait for that other raptor. Ok when I get it clone to the raid raptors I'm going to wipe the segate drive, So then I have to install it to the raptors then, can you do this keep switching the software to different drives to do this?
Well when you install the software it's installed just like any other program, so if it is on the drive you are cloning it will be on the destination drive as well. No need to install it again as it copies itself during the clone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fasedww View Post
Think I should put my stripe size at 16KB, or 32KB, All I do is mainly game.

WD sent me the drive without the heatsink, so I have to return it be probally 6 more days before I get the other 300 gig raptor.
As for stripe size I've never played with it, so I just leave it at default.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-09, 03:27 PM   #7
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: wd raptors 300 gig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
Well when you install the software it's installed just like any other program, so if it is on the drive you are cloning it will be on the destination drive as well. No need to install it again as it copies itself during the clone.



As for stripe size I've never played with it, so I just leave it at default.
Ok thanks, default is 64kb or 128kb,I think, I'm going to try 16kb,
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.

Last edited by fasedww; 05-16-09 at 01:07 PM.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$269.99 - SAMSUNG Class 300 Series T27A300 Black 27" 5ms HDMI Widescreen LED Monitor News 27-Inch 0 06-10-12 01:46 PM
My Gig network :D Rakeesh Benchmarking And Overclocking 9 05-01-12 05:35 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 10:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.